Living Water

Feast of the Dedication of the Lateran Basilica in Rome
Lectionary: 671
Reading 1 EZ 47:1-2, 8-9, 12
Responsorial Psalm PS 46:2-3, 5-6, 8-9
R. The waters of the river gladden the city of God, the holy dwelling of the Most High!
Reading 2 1 COR 3:9C-11, 16-17

Gospel JN 2:13-22

 

Does God’s water flow through me? How can it be that each encounter with this living stream make the salt waters of my soul clean? This is the beautiful mystery that Christ makes us whole and entire with his gentle touch. Yet we are a living work made of living stones being built into the temple of the living God. We each are the dwelling place of God and that temple which he built with Jesus as the the foundation and cornerstone. I couldn’t help but ponder as I read the first reading that Jesus comes to me and makes me cleaner each day. Of course the challenge is this: do I walk with Him and respond to that grace? The life giving water is always there but do I plunge into its depths? Do I let it flow over me and clean me? This stream bears fruit in my life. Each patient day brings with it more beautiful foliage along the banks.

The fresh water makes the salt clean. Jesus does this in the Gospel today. He cleanses the temple. And what sign does he give? The destruction of his body and the resurrection after three days. That is a powerful sign! It does prove His place and authority in my heart. What action does He desire in my heart? Am I resistant like those in the temple or am I like His disciples that realize the significance of His words and His works? Sometimes the Lord is dramtic in his work and allows amazing things to happen to both form and shape me but most of the time His work is the gentle stream flowing into mine. My life is transformed by the ordinary happenings each day and with each encounter of His flowing water.

Leave a comment