Love before Sight

The old adage “Love at First Sight” seems a little strange.  I would like to propose to you a new thought…

Love comes before sight.

What?  Can that really be?  Recently, I rear-ended someone. My fault.  Plain and simple.  There is no way to talk out of that!  How stupid I felt! (face palm)  Especially since I could have avoided it if I had listened to that interior call of caution…”Wait for your business till the parking lot.”  Don’t we all get that little interior call? “WAIT!”  Often-times that little voice is ignored and we choose to be bluntly selfish…to put up a box around us for survival or pleasure instead of choosing to open ourselves to love.  When that negative binding choice is made, feelings of shame and guilt follow.  You know what? These are good things because they help us turn back to the Father. But if they are let to get out of hand, OH DEAR! We sin against His Mercy!

Psalm 139

13You formed my inmost being;

you knit me in my mother’s womb.e

14I praise you, because I am wonderfully made;

wonderful are your works!

My very self you know.

15My bones are not hidden from you,

When I was being made in secret,

fashioned in the depths of the earth.*

16Your eyes saw me unformed;

in your book all are written down;f

my days were shaped, before one came to be

Wait a sec! That refers to GOD.  Yes and I am made in His image and likeness.  I am called to something greater. I need to have something beyond myself or life would be just plain…BLAH!

In my frustration, I seemed to loose sight of the fact…you are loved before all time.  Even those closest to me love me despite stupid choices. Should I not also extend the same love to others?  I am not proposing to love the choices but the doer of them.  God had to reach for me.  In asking for his pardon, I received it but still have debt to pay for the damage caused and have to experience the consequences. (1500 for damages and soreness from the impact.)

But even then, REJOICE because I am not alone.  I can choose better and better each time that interior voice calls out to me “WAIT!” No one was hurt! I AM STILL ALIVE!  The other vehicle was completely fine.

Okay, simply put that was having to do with cars but the same applies to all my choices to follow God’s plans or not.  God’s Grace…my response; Reparation for the poor ones to make right the wrong, and Thanksgiving in all things. So God can bring positive out of negative.  Still don’t believe me?  Try putting it to the the test and see the difference it makes.  I know one thing…I have more peace and interior calm now than I did before my face-palm.

Leave a Reply

